top of page

Football Practice in the Rain


Team huddle after practice.

"Are you sure you want to go?" My mom asked, staring at Alumni Field through the wiper blades on our car.

"Mom, just let me out here and I'll be fine. It's just misting, and no one's on the field because they are in the locker room...probably." I tried to reassure her.

"Carolyn, why don't you just go home. It's raining. You can take pictures and notes tomorrow when it is nicer."

"But I said I was going today, and I really want to go." I pleaded. At this point, guys were starting to stream out of the locker room, and toss footballs back and forth to each other.

"If you want to, but are you sure? It's raining, and you can always come another day."

"I'll go today! Bye Mom!" I practically shouted with excitement as I jumped out of the car and carefully made my way into the stadium. It's so different walking in there alone with a notebook clutched in your hands than when you march in there with 90 other band members. I wasn't quite sure where to go, and I must admit that I felt awkward, and like I was intruding. For the football players, it was just another practice and they minded their business, and I minded mine. But it was just so weird. I didn't feel like I belonged.

Then they began talking strategy and how Kirtland lined up. I won't write that up here, because I'm not sure the coaches or players would like me write out their game plan. It's not like I heard secret information, but I am going to respect the privacy of the team.

It was interesting to see how much they worked on routes with wide receivers and cornerbacks/safeties. They also practiced kickoff blocking schemes, and worked with scoring in the red zone using a running back. The coaches then broke the team into groups based on positions, and the group I photographed worked on blocking techniques and the offensive and defensive lines worked on controlling the line of scrimmage.

The practice went by so fast, and after the first half hour the rain moved out and sunshine rolled in.

Photos from the practice will be uploaded. I tried uploading them last night, but I deleted them because they didn't import the way I wanted them to.

Have a great week, and expect more to come!

Go Blue Devils!


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page