top of page

More Badgers, but the Savage Blue Devils are Ready to Do Their Thing

Anything related to the Badgers makes me cringe. A lot.

It's not like I don't like the city of Berkshire, because that's where Band Camp is, and that's really fun. It's just, Badgers will be Badgers, and besides, Badgers reminds me of Wisconsin.

Just look at this sneaky, savage animal. To be honest, if I was walking through the woods (I'm not sure why I'd be walking through the woods, but whatever) I'm about 99% sure that I would shriek and run directly away from it.

But lucky for Independence, the football team is prepared to be the savage Blue Devils that they are.

"I mean, we're prepared to play, but I don't think I'll ever be ready to play my last home game of my high school career." Senior linebacker Stephen Molchan said. "We won't ever play a home game again with all of our brothers."

"No, I'll never be prepared. Hopefully we will end it on a good note." Adrian Pope, Senior Wide Receiver added.

Berkshire is coming off of a 49-28 lose to Cuyahoga Heights, and they have a 4-4 record. The Blue Devils are fresh from a blowout victory against Richmond Heights, and hold a 6-2 record.

But this may not be the second to last home game, as some fans may have thought.

If Independence can roll over the Badgers, and beat Heights, the Blue Devils have made it to playoffs.

"The work ethic that was put in during the off-season definitely helped." Jason Bianco said, alluding to last season's embarressing season. "For the first time that we've played, we've had the same staff more than one year in a row. A stable coaching staff."

"Being underneath the lights...hearing the fans...hearing the band...there's nothing like it." Trevor Thompson said Wednesday.

And there's nothing like it sitting in the stands, either. I'm pretty sure that I'm the only band member whos heart is pounding a million beats per minute before kickoff.

"The win after makes it all worth it." Pope explained.

Tomorrow, the Savage Blue Devils take on Berkshire at 7PM at Alumni Field. Please come wearing Neon to support our school as we fight our way to playoffs!

Go Blue Devils.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page